Northern California in October: Part 2

Yes, I do realize this is over two months late…

AND that I have a whole new adventure in Korea for Thanksgiving to post…

But Christmas shopping and crafting has taken over my life!  So I’m just going to say that it was wonderful being in Rescue, California for 3 weeks with my parents (in October), just loafing about and soaking up all the grandparent love we could get!

And here are the (tons of) pictures from our adventures:

Apple Hill:

I hadn’t been to Apple Hill since high school!  It’s this area of Placerville, California dedicated to Apple orchards, Christmas tree farms, vineyards and pumpkin patches.  It’s beautiful!  And during October, venders come to sell crafts and food, there are games for kids, train rides, even a cider press to explore.

IMG_7416
Obligatory pumpkin picture
IMG_7457
Mess face cutie!
IMG_7468
Hanging with Grandpa while E plays games

IMG_7460 IMG_7511IMG_7428

IMG_7427

IMG_7455

IMG_7429
Grandma and E into the maze
IMG_7433
I love my mom…she is so game for anything!

IMG_7434

IMG_7442
IMG_7447

And then E decided she wanted to ride a pony!
And then E decided she wanted to ride a pony…
IMG_7480
And she was so brave and even took her hands off to wave at us…
IMG_7498
And smiled the entire two trips around the corral…
IMG_7503
And it was only after she dismounted that we discovered that she is INCREDIBLY ALLERGIC TO PONIES!!! and this was later reconfirmed at another pony incident just a few days later. Poor E, what a trooper!
IMG_7520
Then we took a train ride.

IMG_7530 IMG_7548 IMG_7553

When E discovered we were going to apple orchards, she thought we got to go and pick them off the trees. So imagine her disappointment when we picked up a huge box of pre picked apples! So then, grandma was determined to get her the apple picking experience but nobody would let us just go out and pick ONE apple...so we finally found an orchard where the parking lot was IN part of the orchard and we searched around between cars and finally found a little apple for E to pick!
When E discovered we were going to apple orchards, she thought we got to go and pick them off the trees. So imagine her disappointment when we picked up a huge box of pre picked apples! Grandma was determined to get her the apple picking experience, but nobody would let us just go out and pick ONE apple…so we finally found an orchard where the parking lot was IN part of the orchard and we searched around between cars and finally found a little apple for E to pick!
IMG_7564
It was tiny, but she didn’t care!
IMG_7576
And she thought it tasted delicious!  Trip to Apple Hill: successful!

Folsom City Zoo Sanctuary:

This is a favorite of my kids. The Folsom Sanctuary houses rescued animals and although it is a small zoo, it is very well maintained, and has a large variety of animals here.  I love that all the animals are rescued and that there are peacocks and chickens just wandering around loose!

IMG_7590
Checking our wingspans
IMG_7597
And trying to make eagle sounds!

IMG_7599

IMG_7593
Little G is not quite getting it…
IMG_7595
that face!

IMG_7605 IMG_7600

Placerville:

OK, so I’m ashamed that I didn’t get any pictures of downtown Placerville.  I meant to.  But my toddler was being a handful and we didn’t have a stroller and I’ve been really wanting to shoot Placerville for years now because it’s where I grew up and it’s beautiful! But, perhaps next visit, eh?  Before any meltdowns happened, I did get some shots of this cute little shop we went to called, Body Basics.  It has a secret fairy garden in the back! E was elated (as you can imagine)!

IMG_7665IMG_7659 IMG_7656

IMG_7654 IMG_7668IMG_7662 IMG_7666

After carrying this fairy around for 30 minutes, E decided that she did not want to buy her and instead opted for a necklace that holds "pixie dust." She was crushed hen she busted it out and discovered that it didn't make her fly. Broke. My. Heart.
After carrying this fairy around for 30 minutes, E decided that she did not want to buy her and instead opted for a necklace that holds “pixie dust.” She was crushed when she busted it out and discovered that it didn’t actually make her fly. Broke. My. Heart.

Hanging around Grandma and Grandpa’s House:

My favorite thing to do when I go back home is to just BE at home.  It’s the same house I was born and raised in, so it holds a special place in my heart.

IMG_7586
My brother brought his family over for some cousin time!
IMG_1430
This swing has been the joy of the backyard since I was E’s age.
IMG_7613
My brother and my kids…I love this shot. It makes me want to move back home.
IMG_7621
Little G loves his Uncle Brady.

IMG_7619

My mom's garden shed is full of whimsey..
My mom’s garden shed is full of whimsey..
IMG_7625
and E thought it needed a touch more whimsey…acorn hats.

IMG_7627

My mom is a first grade teacher...so there was much learning happening the whole time we were there!
My mom is a first grade teacher…so there was much learning happening the whole time we were there!

IMG_7642

And then there was the trampoline...a mother's life saver!
And then there was the trampoline…a mother’s life saver!
IMG_7681
So much energy out, so much sharing practiced, so much team building happening, so much giggling…
IMG_7671
Look at that tongue!
IMG_7669
Look at that hair!!
Look at that smile!!!
Look at that smile!!!

IMG_7675

IMG_7687 IMG_7689 IMG_7692 IMG_7715 IMG_7716 IMG_7717 IMG_7737

Playing ball right where I walked down the aisle to marry their father...I love this yard.
Playing ball right where I walked down the aisle to marry their father…I love this home.

May you truly feel “home” wherever you are!

blessings,

e

NEXT UP: Our incredibly difficult and enjoyable trip back to Japan…through Oahu!

4 thoughts on “Northern California in October: Part 2

    1. Oh Rachel, that’s so wonderful! It is so meaningful to have a place to connect to. I feel bad for my kids in that regard…but they’re getting something different – a world view that I never experienced! Have so much fun at home!!

      Like

    1. Oh Tracy, you are so sweet!! It is a hobby that I know VERY little about! I just glean knowledge from others around me 🙂 and I practice…A LOT! It was SO wonderful getting to see you on our trip back! Keep writing, friend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

