Thrift Store Finds: coffee mug

If you know me personally, then you know that I LOVE the thrift store.  LOVE it.

My friend Jake once said that I was strangely proud of my thrift store deals…I would brag about them like souvenirs from a far away land.  I guess I just love the idea that I’m recycling or repurposing discarded items.  Or maybe I’m just frugal and I love that the jeans are already worn in and seem softer…whatever it is, I can’t seem to get away from my thrifty side.

I get this trait from my dad who used to come home from a thrift store or a garage sale lugging ancient tools off the back of his truck and exclaiming that “you just can’t find this stuff anymore!”

And truly, you can’tbecause it’s all rotting in my dad’s barn.

In Oregon, I had my usual thrift and consignment haunts that I occasionally found a good deal in, but here on the island, thrifting is very different.  Off base, thrift/consignment and recycle stores are either really bad quality or highly overpriced for used goods.  But on base thrifting is amazing (in my opinion) because of PCSing.  When the military moves you to a new place, the purging begins and suddenly you are offloading tons of stuff just to make life more simple. Awesome for me…who is not leaving anytime soon!

So I’m going to be posting my cool finds when I run across them.

Find #1: A Yomitan original coffee mug. SCORE!

I actually saw this mug at the Yomitan Pottery sale last fall for 2500 yen ($23) and I picked it up at the Kadena thrift store for 50 cents! DEAL
I actually saw this mug at the Yomitan Pottery sale last fall for 2500 yen ($23) and I picked it up at the Kadena thrift store for 50 cents! DEAL
LOOK!  It even has the potter's signature on it!
LOOK! It even has the potter’s signature on it!

 

Leave a Reply

